MAP | CALMAIL |
Department of Demography

Students and Trainees: Current and Recent



Please update your directory information as needed; we will change this page as time allows.


Earlier graduates will found on our Alumni and Friends web page. Links to actively maintained student websites are also included in the directory.




Monica Alexander
  E-Mail: monicah@demog.berkeley.edu

Boroka Bo
  E-Mail:Borokabo@demog.Berkeley.edu
 
 

Gabriel Borges
  E-Mail:gabriel@demog.berkeley.edu
 

Sarah Bradley
  E-Mail: sarahb@demog.berkeley.edu
Personal Webpage:
Current Demography PhD student, current NICHD Trainee
Research Interests: International public health; data collection/survey methods; family planning; unintended pregnancy; HIV/AIDS; infant and child mortality.
 

Paulette Cha
  E-Mail: paulette«dot»cha«at»berkeley.edu
Current Health Service and Policy Analysis student, current NIA Trainee.
Research Interests: Migration and health, chronic disease prevention, applied economics.
 

Pil Chung
  E-Mail: pchung@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Sociology and Demography student, current NIA Trainee.
Research Interests: Paul Chung's research interests lie primarily in the social psychology and public health implications of population aging. In particular, he seeks to understand how changes in the number of children and the age gap between parent and child might affect old-age independence and the experience of disability.
 

April Falconi
  E-Mail: april.falconi@berkeley.edu
Previous Demography MA student/Current Health Service and Policy Analysis student.
Research Interests: Aging, longevity, life course epidemiology, biodemography

Kevin Feeney
  E-Mail: kfeeney@berkeley.edu
Health Services and Policy Analysis PhD student, Current NIA Trainee
Research Interests:
 

Alison Gemmill
  E-Mail: alisong@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Demography student, current NICHD Trainee.
Research Interests: maternal and child health; family planning; life course approaches to aging and mortality; work and family.
 

Julia Goodman
  E-Mail: juliagoodman@berkeley.edu
Current Public Health student, former NICHD Trainee.
Research Interests: I am interested in how stress during pregnancy affects gestational, birth, and early life outcomes. I am also interested in the effects of family policy on fertility and pregnancy outcomes.

Reid Hamel
  E-Mail: reidh@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Demography Ph.D. student, former NICHD Trainee.
Research Interests: Central Asia, marriage markets, economic demography, fertility, intrahousehold allocation.
 

Amal Harrati
  E-Mail: amalh@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Demography Ph.D. student, former NIA Trainee.
Personal Webpage: http://demog.berkeley.edu/~amalh/
 

Peter Hepburn
  E-Mail: pshepburn@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Sociology and Demography PhD student, current NIA Trainee.
Research Interests: Stratification, class analysis, culture, and fertility.
 
 

Savet Hong
  E-Mail: saveth@demog.berkeley.edu
Demography Ph.D.
Research Interests:Cambodia, family, child well-being, and mortality.
 

Monica Howlett
  E-Mail: monicah@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Demography Ph.D. student.
Research Interests:
 

Futoshi Ishii
  E-Mail: futoshii@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Demography Ph.D. student.
Research Interests: Mathematical demography, mortality.
 
 

Emmanuel Letouzé
  E-Mail: emmanuell@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Demography PhD student.
Research Interests: Migration, fiscal policy and transfers, poverty, conflict.
 

Zachary Olson
 

Robert Pickett
  E-Mail: rpickett@demog.berkeley.edu
Sociology and Demography PhD student, current NICHD Trainee.

Research Interests: Quantitative Methodology, Race, Culture

Robert Pickett is a cultural sociologist and demographer who's interests focus primarily on ethnoracial categories. His work uses quantitative methods to explore the process by which fuzzy individual identities are codified into discrete categories and aggregated into distinct populations.

 

 
Hayley Pierce
  E-Mail: hayleyp@demog.berkeley.edu
 

Leslie Root
  E-Mail: leslier@demog.berkeley.edu

Byron Villacis
  E-Mail: byronv@demog.berkeley.edu
Current Sociology and Demography PhD student.
 
 

Zachary Wagner-Rubin
  E-Mail:
 

Yi Zhou
  E-Mail: yizhou@demog.berkeley.edu
Personal Webpage:
Current Demography Ph.D. student.
Research Interests: Economic demography, aging and retirement, demographic dividend.